AIMSS Announces Revamped Board

AIMSS Announces Revamped Board

The Australian Institute for Motor Sport Safety (AIMSS) has announced a restructure of its board with several eminent new appointments and a new Chairman.

The new appointments are prominent engineers Dr Michael Myers OAM and Sam Michael, and researcher Dr Michelle Gatton. The new Chairman is Garry Connelly AM.

They join current directors Dr Michael Henderson, Mark Larkham and Andrew Papadopoulos.

“The addition of Michelle Gatton, Mike Myers and Sam Michael means that with the continuing members, our board is now equipped to deliver very positive outcomes for Australian, and indeed, global motor sport participants,” AIMSS Chairman Garry Connelly said.

He also paid tribute to retiring Chairman Bob Glindemann and retiring director Allan Moffat.

“Bob and Allan have both made very significant contributions to the work of AIMSS and the improvement of motor sport safety in this country” Connelly stated.

Head only colllage

Board members’ backgrounds

Dr Michael Henderson is a highly respected road safety and motor sport safety expert, with global experience over many decades. He was the first Director of Traffic Safety in NSW, and led the state’s original traffic accident research unit. He wrote the first definitive book on motor sport safety, describing his ground-breaking concept for a six-point race harness, and was a co-designer of the Ferrari/Pininfarina safety concept F1 car. He is a Fellow of the FIA Institute for Motor Sport Safety, the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine, and the Australian College of Road Safety.

Dr Michelle Gatton is a senior academic with more than 15 years’ experience in health research, and expertise in research design and data analysis. She is an experienced rally organiser with international experience and past rally competitor. Dr Gatton received the inaugural FIA Outstanding Senior Official of the Season Award in 2011.

Dr Michael Myers OAM is the Founder and Executive Chairman of Re-Engineering Australia Foundation and President of Engineers Australia – Sydney. A Mechanical Engineer with 30 years’ experience implementing engineering design technologies into major manufacturers around the world including BOEING, Toyota, Ford, Proton & Mitsubishi. Michael established the F1 in Schools program in Australia and is one of Australia’s 100 most influential Engineers.

Mark Larkham has 30 years’ experience in professional motorsport with a successful career as a championship driver and team owner, culminating in 11 years competing in V8 Supercars with responsibilities across racing, technical, sponsorship and commercial operations. He was a long serving member of the V8Supercars board with a long held passion for motor sport safety, joining AIMSS in 2008 and more recently the CAMS National Track Safety Advisory Committee. He now provides expert motor sport commentary and analysis for Network Ten.

Sam Michael is a former Sporting Director of McLaren Formula One Team and Technical Director of Williams Formula One, with over 25 years of experience in motor racing. A UNSW graduate in Mechanical Engineering, his work is now in automation and predictive analytics.

Andrew Papadopoulos is the President of CAMS, is a graduate of Macquarie University in Economics and in Business and Marketing in the United Kingdom. He has been involved in motor sport as a competitor and administrator for more than 30 years. Andrew is a member of the FIA Single Seater Commission.

Garry Connelly AM represents CAMS at the FIA, is a member of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, Deputy President of the FIA Institute for Motor Sport Safety and Sustainability, director of the Global Institute for Motor Sport Safety and one of the Permanent Chairmen of Stewards for Formula One. He is a former rally competitor and event organiser, having been Chairman of the Organising Committee of Rally Australia for many years.

2 years, 7 months ago Comments Off on AIMSS Announces Revamped Board