AIMSS Board of Directors



The AIMSS Board of Directors boast appropriate and wide ranging knowledge, experience and expertise in matters relating to motor sport, it’s safety, governance and management.





Chairman & Directors


Chairman – Garry Connelly AM

Garry Connelly AM represents CAMS at the FIA, is a member of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, Deputy President of the FIA Institute for Motor Sport Safety and Sustainability, director of the Global Institute for Motor Sport Safety and one of the Permanent Chairmen of Stewards for Formula One. He is a former rally competitor and event organiser, having been Chairman of the Organising Committee of Rally Australia for many years.



Director – Dr Michelle Gatton

Dr Michelle Gatton is a senior academic with more than 15 years’ experience in health research, and expertise in research design and data analysis. She is an experienced rally organiser with international experience and past rally competitor. Dr Gatton received the inaugural FIA Outstanding Senior Official of the Season Award in 2011.

Director – Dr Matthew MacPartlin

Dr Matthew MacPartlin is a Critical Care Physician (Emergency medicine and Intensive care medicine) in NSW. A member of CAMS National Medical Advisory Council since 2012, Dr MacPartlin is the current Deputy Chief Medical Officer for Rally Australia, Assistant Chief Medical Officer for the Formula 1 Grand Prix, Chief Medical Assessor for Speedway Australia and serves as an editorial board member for FIA AUTO+Medical publication.



Director – Sam Michael

Sam Michael is a former Sporting Director of McLaren Formula One Team and Technical Director of Williams Formula One, with over 25 years of experience in motor racing. A UNSW graduate in Mechanical Engineering, his work is now in automation and predictive analytics.


Director – Dr Michael Myers OAM

Dr Michael Myers OAM is the Founder and Executive Chairman of Re-Engineering Australia Foundation and President of Engineers Australia – Sydney. A Mechanical Engineer with 30 years’ experience implementing engineering design technologies into major manufacturers around the world including BOEING, Toyota, Ford, Proton & Mitsubishi. Michael established the F1 in Schools program in Australia and is one of Australia’s 100 most influential Engineers.



Director – Andrew Papadopoulos

Andrew Papadopoulos is the President of CAMS, is a graduate of Macquarie University in Economics and in Business and Marketing in the United Kingdom. He has been involved in motor sport as a competitor and administrator for more than 30 years. Andrew is a member of the FIA Single Seater Commission.

Director – David Stuart

David Stuart is the current Supercars Sporting and Technical Director with over 25 years’ experience in the industry. David holds an engineering degree and mechanical engineer qualifications and spent 15 years as an Engineer and in Team Management of Supercars Championship teams covering all technical aspects. David has acted as race engineer for the likes of Shane van Gisbergen, Alex Davidson, Jason Bright, Will Davidson and Dick Johnson Racing.